Friday, April 22, 2016

Prize Watch: Shaughnessy Cohen Prize to John Ibbitson

At Ottawa's stylish Politics and the Pen dinner last night, the Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for political writing went to prolific columnist and writer John Ibbitson for his biography Stephen Harper.  (Full shortlist here.)

Book juries were divided last year between those who listed Michael Harris's anti-Harper book Party of One and those who preferred Ibbitson's more sympathetic portrayal.  Score one here for Ibbitson, a stylish and versatile writer whatever you think of his political analyses (as here, where he predicted Harper would rule for a generation).

Follow @CmedMoore